Back to the list of articles


Leitner Rupert

Prof. RNDr., DrSc.
Born June 30, 1958, Semily

Educational and professional preparation

  • 2014: Prof. – physics, sub-nuclear physics, Charles University
  • 2005: Doc. – sub-nuclear physics, Charles University
  • 2001: DrSc. – nuclear and subnuclear physics, Charles University
  • 1989: CSc., JINR Dubna
  • 1983: RNDr., Faculty of Mathematics and Physics, Charles University
  • 1982: Faculty of Mathematics and Physics (FMF), Charles University

Employment and academic positions

  • since 2017: Director of IPNP FMF Charles University
  • from 2015: Professor, FMF Charles University
  • 2005-2014: Associate professor, FMF Charles University
  • 1990-2005: Senior researcher, FMF Charles University
  • 1984-1990: Researcher, FMF Charles University
  • 1983-1984: Internship, FMF Charles University

Membership in selected domestic scientific bodies

  • Since 2010: Chair of the Committee for Cooperation of the Czech Republic with CERN 
  • 2004–2010: Vice-Chair of the Committee for Cooperation of the Czech Republic with CERN

Membership and positions in selected international organizations and societies

  • since 2010: Appointed as one of the two representatives of the Czech Republic on the CERN Council
  • since 2018: Member of the Advisory Board of the Science Gateway Project in CERN
  • since 2014: Chair of the Speakers Committee of the Daya Bay experiment
  • 2004-2012: Member of the HEPP Board of the European Physical Society
  • 2001-2006: Representative of the Czech Republic in the plenary session of the ECFA (European Committee for Future Accelerators).

Notable awards

  • 2018: Silver Medal of Charles University
  • 2016: Breakthrough prize in Fundamental Physics (has been awarded to members of several neutrino experiments including the Daya Bay)
  • 2013: Prize of the Ministry of Education, Youth and Sports for outstanding results of research, experimental development and innovation. Prize awarded for results in the Daya Bay experiment; I won the prize on behalf of the FMF CU team in the Daya Bay experiment.
  • 2013: Petrusek’s Prize for the presentation of Charles University. I won the prize on behalf of the FMF CU team in the ATLAS experiment. 
  • 2013: 1st Prize for ExperimentalPhysics JINR Dubna for 2012 for the results achieved in the Daya Bay experiment (together with V. Vorobel, A. Olshevsky, Yu. Gornushkin, D. Naumov and M. Gonchar).

Selected publications

  • Search for electron-antineutrinos associated with gravitational-wave events GW150914, GW151012, GW151226, GW170104, GW170608, GW170814, and GW170817 at Daya Bay, Daya Bay Collaboration, Chin.Phys.C 45 (2021) 5, 055001
  • Recent results of Daya Bay reactor neutrino experiment, R. Leitner for the Daya Bay Collaboration, Nucl.Part.Phys.Proc. 285-286 (2017) 32-37
  • Neutrino Physics with JUNO, JUNO Collaboration, J.Phys.G 43 (2016) 3
  • Observation of a new particle in the search for the Standard Model Higgs boson with the ATLAS detector at the LHC, ATLAS Collaboration, Phys.Lett.B 716 (2012) 1-29
  • Observation of electron-antineutrino disappearance at Daya Bay, Daya Bay Collaboration, Phys.Rev.Lett. 108 (2012) 171803 
  • Non-standard antineutrino interactions at Daya Bay, R. Leitner, M. Malinsky, B. Roskovec, He Zhang, JHEP 12 (2011) 001
  • Readiness of the ATLAS Tile Calorimeter for LHC collisions, ATLAS Collaboration, Eur.Phys.J.C 70 (2010)
  • The ATLAS Experiment at the CERN Large Hadron Collider, ATLAS Collaboration, JINST 3 (2008) S08003
  • Measurement of the W pair cross-section and of the W mass in e+ e- interactions at 172-GeV, DELPHI Collaboration, Eur.Phys.J.C 2 (1998) 581-595
  • A Measurement of the energy loss spectrum of 150-GeV muons in iron, RD34 Collaboration, Z.Phys.C 73 (1997) 455-463

More information

Personal page